The two E’s… Exercise and Epilepsy.

“Sometimes the easiest way is the hard way”- John Finn.

People may question why I have used this very quote this evening however I thought it was relevant to this evening’s post. Tonight I intend to discuss a topic we either love or loathe. That topic is Exercise, something that people go hell for leather at or refrain from doing.

The word no shouldn’t be an excuse. You’ve heard the saying no pain no gain. Well it’s true. Exercise isn’t easy it’s bloody hard work.

I know exactly how it feels. The idea of doing exercise after a long day at work is exhausting and you feel like you’d rather crawl in a ball somewhere and dismiss it than give it a go. The words “Till tomorrow” were muttered so many times that I’ve lost count.

The quote John Finn mentioned there is exactly the way I have been feeling the past few days. You never got anything in life for free so why should exercise be any different. The difference with exercise and life is that you can exercise from home, at the gym and amongst friends. The list is endless.

As you are all aware I have had a run of illness over the past couple of months and it’s something I’d rather forget than look back on with fond memories. The word exercise got me thinking and wondering what relevance exercise has to someone suffering from Epilepsy.

Exercise can be a touchy subject amongst some who believe that they’re far too busy to spare 20 minutes a day doing a combination of strength exercises (i.e weights) and cardio. In their minds exercise is too stressful therefore that’s the reason why exercise shouldn’t be a priority. The more analysing I did about exercise the more I realised a little exercise can not only go a long way however can benefit us all not only mentally but physically.

As someone suffering from Epilepsy my GP’s, neurologists etc. have drawn the conclusion that my seizures/shaky bouts are as a result of stress, an imbalance in my brain activity (particularly the left lobe) and medication changes.

During my late teens/early twenties my medication had risen drastically within two years and my mind was working overtime to adapt to my frequent medication changes. My head was all over the shop and the side effects ranged from migraines, shaking and more importantly demotivation something that I was never used to.

I have never been a lover of exercise however when a challenge is given I try and give it a go. If I fail I fail however can say that I’ve given it my best shot.

I’m no marathon runner and prefer to walk an incline on the treadmill than running because my feet usually give way resulting in injury however I do like to do a little aerobic training, the squat challenge and weights of an evening. The aim is to not look like a geezer but to tone up, look in the mirror, like what I see and accept who I am. That will not only assist my recovery but give me the satisfaction to know I’m doing my very best.

Depending upon the severity of your seizures can prevent you from doing certain exercises, this is solely down to the injury factor and that on specific machines should you have a seizure the end result could be disastrous however I have always thought exercise can take your mind off your condition. In order to help myself I decided when I was younger to introduce exercise into my life.

As a person who seemed to always feel burdened with stress I thought in order to help my condition and understand it more that going to a gym would enable me to release any tension and alleviate any stress I had whilst working out for that hour.

It’s safe to say that I’m no gym bunny and get bored very quickly however found that when I was on the cross trainer bopping away to my tunes on my Iphone that my stress I was feeling towards my condition was going gradually. The worry of not being accepted again was disappearing before my eyes because my mind was focused more on the exercise regime than the initial problem.

When I’d return from whatever exercise I had completed I knew in my heart that the stress wasn’t as prominent, in fact it had pretty much gone. With exercise it is a stress reliever. Medical books and online sites encourage people of all ages, all races and disabilities to incorporate exercise into your life to give you that breathing space.

Once I’ve finished a work out I feel invigorated and shattered all at the same time. The nicest thing I can take away from that feeling is the knowing I’ve accomplished my goal for the day.

Ask yourself these questions. Have you ever thought that the stresses in your life would engulf you that much that you were going to pass out/convulse? Have you ever thought of giving in because there doesn’t appear to be no other way out? I know I have.

Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is something I haven’t always followed. First and foremost I’m a chocoholic and that’s without question. I used to eat up to five bars of chocolate a time.

Fortunately I didn’t put any weight on however my parents made it a priority to not fill my life up with fast food. A little fast food was given when I’d done well at school or when my mam had got paid. The remainder of the time my meals usually consisted of Sunday dinners (i.e. meat and vegetables), hotpots, salmon with vegetables and casseroles. Everything had veg on it, nothing had chips or anything really fatty. My only let down was the chocolate… and mashed potato.

My GP said once that chocolate releases endorphins and gives you that happy feeling however sometimes you feel guilty afterwards because you know it isn’t healthy. On the other hand knowing that you’ve completed an exercise regime releases the same endorphin and makes you smile. What would you rather have… go on say it… the chocolate!

I used to believe that having Epilepsy was an excuse to put my life on hold for everyone and everything. Although I liked exercise it wasn’t always my cup of tea. I would watch shows such as the Biggest loser and be inspired however would dread the idea of someone like a personal trainer pushing me beyond belief and making me cry. In fact looking back that’s exactly what we need however I don’t have a fistful of cash to pay for a personal trainer therefore I must push myself.

Since coming onto twitter I have been inspired by the people who follow me. Those same people have joined a slimming club and are in the process of turning their lives around for the better. What more can you say to that? Remarkable and something I’m so proud of them for doing.

Speaking to my twitter followers has made me see that having Epilepsy doesn’t prevent me from doing anything, in fact they are giving me the motivation to want to tone up and exercise like I’ve never exercised before. My friends are educating me and I have been pleasantly surprised as to what healthy food you can eat without feeling like you’re eating rabbit food all day.

Having the medical problems I have lately is spurring me on to carry on. As the shakes have diminished for the time being that’s freeing my time up to push myself in a way that I’ve never done before. Lately I have been extremely busy however have made that 40 minutes to do a workout at home and document the way I feel afterwards.

Since doing that two days ago I have noticed a drastic change in the way I’ve been feeling. The worries of change used to scare me however now I know that you cannot run away from change. You must continue life has normal and maintain that positive attitude throughout. By doing so it’s not only toning up my saggy arse but it’s helping my condition too.

It’s making me realise how strong I am and I would urge you all do the same… Bring exercise into your life, see how strong you are and see how exercise can change your life.

The past 48 hours have been a tale and a half. We have recently had a new electric fire installed today that is gleaming brightly as we speak and tomorrow we have a gentleman coming out to fit some new wooden blinds in both the living room and bedrooms. My bank balance has taken a hit and the words “How much?!” have been shouted more than once since finding out the cheapest blinds have set us back £450!

Healthy eating is going rather well apart from yesterday evening between 8.30-8.45 when I reached into my purse for a tasty cinema treat. Before going to the cinema I had a blue riband yesterday (only 99 calories) and I have been sticking to my occasional muller rice than the chocolate. My confession was that Mr Ben & Jerry made an appearance at the cinema last night however I paid for it today by doing a double workout.

I’ve slipped down the stairs (for the umpteenth time- I’m so clumsy and bruised my leg) however am ok just sore. Again the word goon comes to mind.

On the subject of exercise I have been completing something called 30 day shred by Jillian Michaels.

From my last post my entire body has been killing me and no woman has ever made me wanna change like she is. This is me time and I’m loving it exercising in my living room. Some have scrutinised Jillian for being the hardest trainer in the world along with other malicious comments however this woman is working me out senseless and it’s paying off. If I have a figure like hers then I’d be beaming from ear to ear. I’m sore but sticking it out.

On the topic of having some spare time I went to see the Great Gatsby at the cinema with my friend last night. As usual my friend and I always have a wail of a time and yesterday was no exception. Prior to the film we had a cold glass of wine before watching the picture. My conclusion was that Gatsby wasn’t a poor picture in fact it was rather good however didn’t excite me the way I thought.

Personally I believe Gatsby has been hyped too much by the press over the past year and has come across as a bit of a let down to some fans. From the songs I’ve heard the soundtrack’s going to be a belter and the costumes were just delightful-typical of the 1920’s. Overall a canny film.. Plus Leonardo Dicaprio didn’t disappoint and is as hot as ever. He’s like a fine wine.. getting better with age.

To conclude today’s post. Make exercise a part of your life. Exercise isn’t to everyone’s liking however can benefit you in the long run. No-one likes the idea of hurting the following day however it ensures that we are keeping our minds active and our bodies healthy.

Epilepsy causes stress, exercise can help to condense the stress we have therefore wouldn’t it not be easier to do something that will help you? Sometimes it’s best to push ourselves and to see how strong we really are because you’re stronger than what you think.

P:S Eurovision’s on tomorrow night. Will you be watching? I may just tune in for the UK’s entry and the point scoring. I’m predicting a low score however am hoping Bonnie Tyler will do us Brits proud. Howay Bonnie! 🙂

3 thoughts on “The two E’s… Exercise and Epilepsy.

  1. Greetings! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

  2. I comment each time I appreciate a post on a site or I have something to contribute to the conversation.
    It’s triggered by the sincerness displayed in the article I browsed. And on this post The two Es Exercise and Epilepsy. | Sazzle’s Blog.
    I was actually excited enough to post a comment :
    ) I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or do some of these remarks come across like they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on other places, I’d like to follow you.

    Could you make a list all of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

