Here we go..

I’m a 27 year old female who is in the process of accepting herself; however it’s not always been easy. This is my first blog so please bare with me…

Over the course of the past twenty years I have done nothing but worry. It’s only now after overcoming numerous obstacles that I am in a place where I can document these worries and see if any others can associate with me. One of the obstacles being that I have a medical condition called Epilepsy.

It’s taken a long time to accept that I have the condtion and I’ve got to the point where I’m now gradually moving forward and not allowing it to dominate my thought pattern.

This blog isn’t an attempt to receive any form of sympathy just to share past-times and to write about general topics. I write the way I talk. Sometimes it’s the best way. It’s more intimate and that’s the way I like it.

When it comes to fashion I’m a typical woman all the way. I love spending money on clothes and beauty products and thoroughly enjoy dolling myself up. My manerisms at times are extremely daft and I ain’t gonna lie I have a good few of them. I do however have moments where I act like a fella. I am partial to the occasional steak and ale pie, enjoy a pint of guinness and put on football bets every Saturday with my nearest and dearest. Unfortunately these bets always go “Tits up” however it doesn’t stop me from doing the same thing all over again the following week. I’d be a fool to say I didn’t enjoy it.

Everything I blog about is true to form. I’m not going to lie a great deal of things annoy me so there will be the occasional swear word in here. I appreciate some may feel that it’s “not ladylike” to swear but what can you do? So here we go…

Up until recently my aim was always to prove others wrong and to show everyone what I was made of. I would like to say that I have had a relatively happy childhood, my parents ended their relationship when I was four years old and like all children it effected me badly. My parents were never married and were in their early twenties when I arrived, they were also in their early twenties when their relationship ended. They loved each other however knew as they grew older it just wasn’t meant to be.

My relationship with my family has always been a strong one, this relationship you will hear more of as the posts continue. Don’t get me wrong you love your family but you don’t always have to like them.

My parents have always maintained a positive attitude when I was involved and have always had a very close friendship that as I have grown older has been very comforting. Very few understand the relationship as a family unit we have. On occasions people have asked questions such as “Isn’t it not uncomfortable your parents being in the same room” or “How does that setup work?” To others it’s strange but to me it’s normal. In today’s climate it’s very rare that a family can come together in that fashion .I cannot thank them enough for keeping me together. I love my parents dearly and I’d be lost without them. Anyway enough of that let’s start from the very beginning.

My very first memories of my childhood consisted of living on a council estate with my mam who did her utmost to provide for me the best she could. The remaining time was spent with my dad and his side of the family. It would be specific members of the family who would teach me the lifestyle choices I have had to make when I got older.

The two main people who have always given me that stability was my grandparents. Combined with my parents contribution my grandparents made it their priority to teach me what I needed to be taught. They loved me like their own daughter and provided for me in a way I couldn’t have imagined, not necessarily in a materialistic way but taught me manners, how to behave in front of adults and to understand right from wrong. Throughout my life they have been the rock when the going get’s tough and have always listened to me when I was feeling a little lower than usual. To this day I listen to my grandmother every Tuesday over the same bar of chocolate and can of Pepsi. She makes me smile and I cannot thank her enough for being there and giving me that childhood.

It was only when I was eight years old that things started to change…

Leave a Reply

